Skip to content

January 15, 2015

24

New goal/project added :) I will make a short film with no bugdet :)

by Alex - Project Lady

This one makes me very excited!

After watching all those movies from my watchlist of IMDb top 250, I got more and more amazed with filmmaking. I decided to make one myself. As a new project, I will make an appx 15 minutes long short film. To do that I will:

1. Learn how to wrtie a movie script, how to make a movie, how to produce it and how to act by reading books & online material, free courses, watching the best movies ever.

2. Write an original script.

3.ย Produce it including developingย the team, production design, storyboard, art direction, casting, filming, editing, distribution etc.

The hardest part will be the production & editing as I’ve made several short films about 10-12 years ago and I’ve made the editing with my friends from film school. Now, I am on my own and learn to do it as well.

Second obstacle is that I have no extra money for that since currently I am jobless ๐Ÿ™‚ So I have to figure out some way to do it. I have no canon I only have the camera of my mobile phone and my pc’s static web cam ๐Ÿ™‚

I also cannot purchase any editing program, I should use a free one. Also, I cannot pay for any cast and crew so I have to act and be the crew myself. One woman show, huh?

About the distribution, I will simply distribute it myself globally by putting it on youtube, vimeo etc. ๐Ÿ™‚ So that is no problem ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway, I decided to do it so I am going to do it. Luckily, after deciding on this project I wrote 8 different synopses suitable for a no-budget film ๐Ÿ™‚ I am broke with a creative mind. Thank God to that!

I picked the one among my original scenarios for my debut and this week I will finish the scenario. Next weekย I can finish the storyboard and production design and find a way to work with my existing cameras on this film. I give 1 week to work on filming and 1 week for editing. That makes a month. I will add 15 extra daysย as something always comes up, so at the end of February will work.ย I don’t know when to put it on the web though. I will decide that later.

So in 10 days I have to learn the basics of filmmaking. I alreadyย haveย 3 books related to my needs in my library. I bought them a year ago from book fair but haven’t opened their covers so everything has its time ๐Ÿ™‚

One for production:

Basics Film-Making 01: Producing

One for screenwriting:

Basics Film-Making 02: Screenwriting

One for directing:

Basics Film-Making 03: Directing Fiction

They are basics, but basics are enough for me right now. I have my movies, limitless internet, books, 2 cameras (although not very convenient), my originalย idea + synopsis, myself as the cast and crew. What more do I want? I already have everything that I need ๐Ÿ™‚

And I have you ๐Ÿ™‚ You dear reader, will you be my first audience?

Love

Alex

24 Comments Post a comment
  1. Jan 15 2015

    This is an amazing idea. As creative as you are, in the future you might consider writing a play if you have not done so already. Maybe a one act play could be a future project:)

    Like

    Reply
    • Jan 16 2015

      Yes this is nice too. Like a 45 minutes short play and a not boring one ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thank you! You’ll get a free ticket :)))

      Like

      Reply
  2. Jan 15 2015

    Wow!! That’s a great idea!!! Have you considered making an animation movie instead of live action? A stop-motion movie is another good option for no budget film.

    Like

    Reply
    • Jan 16 2015

      That did not come to my mind and it is a great idea. I once did one years ago with a panasonic handy cam ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t know where it is now :)))
      I will do that too. Thank you!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Jan 15 2015

    *actively looks for the signup sheet to be one of the first to see it all* ๐Ÿ˜€ can’t wait to see what comes of this goal for sure! Cheers and good luck working on it!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Jan 15 2015

      Thank you ox ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  4. Jan 15 2015

    How exciting! I look forward to seeing how this develops ๐Ÿ˜€
    MP x

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Jan 15 2015

      ๐Ÿ™‚ me too

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Jan 15 2015

    Can’t wait to see it!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Jan 15 2015

      Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. Jan 15 2015

    Consider finding out if there is a local film makers group at a local library. Usually, some of the members are in writers groups as well. The filmmakers group is a great resource as they have video equipment and editing equipment and may enjoy producing a movie for you for free.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Jan 15 2015

      Yes I have known them back in the days. They helped with the editing and distribution. But as they got involved, they started to criticize everything during editing. ๐Ÿ™‚ I do not need that now ๐Ÿ™‚
      We even criticize academy winners. So, probably they were right about their critiques on my newbie shorts. They were in film school and very know-it-all. However, I cannot take harsh criticism from people I call friends anymore. So, I will do this one alone.
      I have lots of friends appearing on broadcast TV and some on TV shows, some documentary directors, some producers too. Maybe I will team up with them in time. But not this time ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • Jan 16 2015

        Gosh, sorry I meant local folks not film school graduates or students. I’m in a small town without professionals, that’s what I was hoping you could find.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jan 16 2015

        ๐Ÿ™‚ i live in a metropolitan with 8million people and still very lonely as people are not that friendly ๐Ÿ™‚ If I were in a small town, I bet I could find more helpful people around :)))

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jan 16 2015

        I used to live in a big city, twice. Too much sound all the time and the traffic made me shiver. The food though was amazing and healthy. Mass transit meant I didn’t have to drive. Some days I miss it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jan 16 2015

        I do not like driving either ๐Ÿ™‚
        so boring, but when you are public transit there is always something interesting going on in a big city ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jan 16 2015

        No public transportation out here. I need to try having books on tape to kill the monotony. I used to read when I traveled on public transportation. I miss it.

        Like

  7. Jan 15 2015

    I avidly await your movie! It would probably be a good idea to take the advice of metalflowermaker, above. Groups like those could steer you in the right direction. From your lists of resources, though, it looks like you’ve already plunged into this project, so I hope it all goes well. Have fun doing it.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Jan 15 2015

      ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you so much
      hugs hugs ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  8. Jan 15 2015

    Check with local scout troops. They may need a badge for something like this and be willing to assist.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Jan 15 2015

      Thank you so much for advice, this time, I will do this alone, maybe next time ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  9. Jan 17 2015

    Good Luck with your project.

    Like

    Reply

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Today IMDb Top 250 project will be completed :) First project finale :) | My 35 Project
  2. To do list for today :) | My 35 Project

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

