Skip to content

January 2, 2015

20

My observations on Happy-New-Year Resolvers and Anti-Resolutionists :)

by Alex - Project Lady

Today, I’ve read approximately 200 posts about New Year Resolutions.

  • About 40% of them were about how useless that is. They say, resolutions never work! This is the voice of learned helplessness.
  • Another 30% made huge decisions on changing habits or moods, like quitting smoking or smiling more, or even “be happy every day”. How can being happy a goal? Though it can be a consequence of achieving one’s goals.
  • About 20% made jokes about how they will break these resolutions in 2 weeks.
  • and the 10% of them have set clearly defined, time-bound goals with more or less planning.

I’ve been all these people in the past. I joked with myself, act as an anti-resolver or walked around like a shiny happy butterfly of hopes and wishes.

Until this blog, I’ve never been so dedicated to my goals. That’s why, making a project of your life far from just wishes, promises to quit bad habits or mood controlled (happy all the time) expectations is quite important.

SOME SAY…

Some say that the goals should be small and achievable. But where is the challenge in that?

Some set goals of habitual transformations including addictions like smoking, or changing their personality characteristicsWhere is the fun in that?

RESEARCH SAYS:

According to psychological studies about video games and teenagers, it’s been proven that most addictive games are the ones that are both challenging and funny just above the average. Not higher, not lower.

Noone wants boring goals,

noone wants to start a journey if they think that the journey will suck

regardless of how big the goal is.

I wanted to be happier with myself 15 days ago.

I started a journey of 35 goals to reach.

I was not even sure then, what would make me happy.

I decided to find out what will make me happy on the road.

Please do not set easy or boring goals.

They should make you happy and excited during the journey towards them.

Love,

Alex

20 Comments Post a comment
  1. Jan 2 2015

    That’s the content i hve been looking on evrry new year eve .

    Like

    Reply
    • Jan 2 2015

      🙂 you r welcome
      I’m glad u like it

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • Jan 2 2015

        🙂 .. looking for such reads .. i hope you write another about 14 Feb too .. :p

        Like

      • Jan 2 2015

        You are really smart. I mean, you get me man 🙂
        I hate that day btw :p

        Like

      • Jan 2 2015

        Me too thats why I asked you to write about that too ..

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jan 2 2015

        🙂 I usually happen to be single on that day(!) but if I am dating someone I refuse to do something special or any gifts etc. I go out with my single girl friends instead haha 🙂 Passive protest 🙂

        Like

      • Jan 2 2015

        Haha .. got that .. but i am active protestor .. i mean nothing at all ..

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jan 2 2015

        Nothing is not protesting at all
        If you write anti-love poems on that day, that is active protesting hahah :))

        Like

      • Jan 2 2015

        Haha .. nup not that .. i mean i spend the day as usual. No such stuff .. :p

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jan 2 2015

        I may write some anti-VDay poems this year haha

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jan 2 2015

        I will be waiting 🙂 ..

        Like

      • Jan 2 2015

        Can you let me know your fb profile. Or connect somehow since its kinda much similarities, maybe we could help … ( Well I guess i will be benefitting more :p )

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jan 2 2015

        You have twitter right?

        Like

      • Jan 2 2015

        Yup .. 🙂 ..

        Like

      • Jan 2 2015

        Following you there then .. 🙂

        Like

  2. Jan 2 2015

    Reblogged this on Syed Ali Debaj.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Jan 4 2015

    Love this! Yesterday someone told me that their New Years resolution was to not be angry. Creating any resolution tied to any emotion is only going to set ones self up for failure.

    PS love your blog!

    Like

    Reply
    • Jan 4 2015

      So why don’t you start your own project 🙂
      I will help 🙂

      Like

      Reply
      • Jan 4 2015

        Thanks for the offer 🙂 I’m already working on it. I like the ideas of projects rather than resolutions.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jan 4 2015

        Let me know if you start one 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

